Today I excited to be involved in a blog swap meshed together by Tots 100 and theDigital Parents.

Please pull up a cozy chair and let Jenny from The Gingerbread House introduce you to Lavendar playdough.

Hello everyone.

A big thank you to Fiona for letting me guest post on her blog today. My name is Jenny and I have been blogging at the gingerbread house since 2005. I love crafts of all types from sewing to baking and crafting with my two young children.

The-Gingerbread-House-900x233

It’s fair to say my 2 and 4 year olds are obsessed with playdough. It’s one of their top 3 favourite activities which is why I quickly learned how to make my own. I thought I would share my recipe with you today as there are so many possibilities for playing with playdough.

Our recipe is

150g plain flour

100g salt

2 tsp. cream of tartar

2 tbsp. vegetable oil

200ml water

I put all the ingredients in one bowl and mix with a spoon until it comes together, then I put my hands in and knead it until it forms a dough. This is my least favourite part but it does need kneading for a couple of minutes. If your dough is too sticky just add more flour.

fresh playdough

When you have a lovely dough you can add a dash of purple food colouring and a handful of dried lavender.

This is great for a sensory experience and I have been known to let my children play with it before bedtime to ensure a good nights sleep!

lavender playdough recipe

If you make this I hope you have lots of fun with it. My children use craft sticks, buttons and other bits and pieces with their playdough to make minibeasts, pretend cakes and just let their imagination run wild. If you’re looking for other recipe ideas we also have a fun recipe for gingerbread playdough which smells good enough to eat!

